Sigenergy — ESG Report Overview
- Headquarters
- Shanghai, China · Founded 2022
- Scale
- 1,597 employees across Shanghai (Jinqiao, Lingang) and Nantong Smart Energy Center
- Carbon neutrality target
- Not disclosed — no net-zero year, no absolute or intensity reduction target
- Scope 3 emissions
- Not reported
- Product carbon footprint
- Not disclosed
- Frameworks
- Reporting basis: HKEX ESG Reporting Guide (Appendix C2, "comply or explain"). Referenced: GRI Standards 2021, UN SDGs. HKEX Part D climate-related disclosures applied voluntarily — Sigenergy was not a constituent of the Hang Seng Composite LargeCap Index (HSCLI)
- Third-party verification
- An assurance statement is included in the report appendix
Key highlights
- This is Sigenergy’s second ESG report since listing on HKEX. The KPI appendix states it presents data for the current reporting period only — every table in the report is single-year with no prior-year comparatives.
- Total GHG emissions were 10,534.20 tCO2e (Scope 1: 1.23; Scope 2: 10,532.96), calculated using the 2022 national average grid emission factor of 0.5366 kgCO2/kWh. Scope 3 is not reported.
- The company set no carbon-neutrality year and no quantified emissions reduction target. A water consumption intensity reduction target of 2% for 2026 is the only quantified environmental target disclosed.
- Green electricity procurement totalled 15,000 MWh (Jinqiao 7,000 MWh, Lingang 8,000 MWh), alongside 1,256.77 MWh of on-site photovoltaic generation. The relationship between green electricity procurement and the Scope 2 headline figure is not reconciled in the report.
- Headcount was 1,597, of which more than 40% are R&D staff with 56% holding a master’s degree or above. The company filed 605 patent applications with 234 granted.
- The board has 8 directors with 37.5% female (3 of 8) and 37.5% independent (3 of 8). Overall employee turnover was 15%.
- Zero work-related fatalities over the past three years. ISO 45001 certification held at all production sites.
1. Environmental
1.1 Climate and emissions
Sigenergy reported total 2025 GHG emissions of 10,534.20 tCO2e, consisting of 1.23 tCO2e of Scope 1 (mobile combustion from 586 litres of gasoline) and 10,532.96 tCO2e of Scope 2 (purchased electricity). The emission factor used for Scope 2 is 0.5366 kgCO2/kWh, the 2022 national average published by the National Bureau of Statistics. Scope 3 is not reported.
The company identified climate-related risks and opportunities through scenario analysis based on NGFS and IEA pathways, covering physical risks (extreme weather, rising temperatures) and transition risks (policy changes, market shifts). A Sustainability Committee at board level oversees ESG strategy, with climate governance running Board, Sustainability Committee, and ESG Working Group.
No carbon-neutrality year, no absolute or intensity reduction target, and no SBTi commitment are disclosed. The only quantified environmental target is a 2% reduction in water consumption intensity for 2026.
GHG emissions — full breakdown
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total GHG emissions (Scope 1 + 2) | tCO2e | 10,534.20 | — | — |
| Scope 1 (direct — mobile combustion) | tCO2e | 1.23 | — | — |
| Scope 2 (indirect — purchased electricity) | tCO2e | 10,532.96 | — | — |
| Scope 3 (value chain) | tCO2e | Not reported | — | — |
| Grid emission factor used | kgCO2/kWh | 0.5366 | — | — |
No prior-year comparatives are published. The KPI appendix states it presents data for the current reporting period only.
1.2 Energy
Total energy consumption was 19,634.17 MWh in 2025, with an energy intensity of 0.02 MWh per RMB 10,000 of revenue. Purchased electricity was 19,629.09 MWh and gasoline consumption was 586 litres (contributing 5.08 MWh of direct energy).
Renewable energy comprised 1,256.77 MWh of on-site photovoltaic generation across the company’s production facilities. In addition, Sigenergy procured 15,000 MWh of green electricity through certificates — 7,000 MWh at the Jinqiao Production Park and 8,000 MWh at the Lingang Production Park.
The report describes year-on-year energy efficiency improvements in product manufacturing: inverter unit energy consumption decreased 54%, PACK unit energy consumption decreased 47%, and charging pile unit energy consumption decreased 64%. These are stated as percentage reductions without disclosing the base values.
Energy consumption — full breakdown
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total energy consumption | MWh | 19,634.17 | — | — |
| Total purchased electricity | MWh | 19,629.09 | — | — |
| Renewable energy — PV generation | MWh | 1,256.77 | — | — |
| Green electricity procured (certificates) | MWh | 15,000 | — | — |
| Gasoline consumption | Litres | 586.00 | — | — |
| Direct energy consumption | MWh | 5.08 | — | — |
| Indirect energy consumption | MWh | 19,629.09 | — | — |
| Direct energy intensity | MWh/RMB 100M | 0.06 | — | — |
| Indirect energy intensity | MWh/RMB 100M | 216.60 | — | — |
| Energy consumption intensity | MWh/RMB 10,000 | 0.02 | — | — |
1.3 Water and waste
Total water consumption was 36.83 kilotonne in 2025, with a consumption intensity of 0.04 kilotonne per RMB 10,000 of revenue. The company has set a target of reducing water consumption intensity by 2% in 2026 — the only quantified environmental target in the report. Water discharge and recycling rates are not disclosed.
Total waste disposed was 1,362.03 tonnes. Hazardous waste was 61.14 tonnes, comprising 18.44 tonnes of waste batteries and 42.70 tonnes of other hazardous waste, at an intensity of 0.07 kg per RMB 10,000 of revenue. Non-hazardous waste was 1,300.89 tonnes at an intensity of 1.44 kg per RMB 10,000 of revenue, including 103.68 tonnes of domestic and kitchen waste and 1,197.21 tonnes of other waste such as packaging cartons. The report states zero non-compliant discharges during the reporting period.
Non-methane hydrocarbon (NMHC) exhaust emissions were 0.02 tonnes.
Total packaging materials consumption was 9,280.01 tonnes at an intensity of 0.01 tonne per RMB 10,000 of revenue. The company states it is undertaking compliance work for the EU Packaging and Packaging Waste Regulation (PPWR).
Water and waste — full data
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Water | ||||
| Total water consumption | kt | 36.83 | — | — |
| Water consumption intensity | kt/RMB 10,000 | 0.04 | — | — |
| Water discharge | kt | Not reported | — | — |
| Water recycled / reused | % | Not reported | — | — |
| Waste | ||||
| Total waste disposed | Tonnes | 1,362.03 | — | — |
| Hazardous waste | Tonnes | 61.14 | — | — |
| — Waste batteries | Tonnes | 18.44 | — | — |
| — Other hazardous waste | Tonnes | 42.70 | — | — |
| Hazardous waste intensity | kg/RMB 10,000 | 0.07 | — | — |
| Non-hazardous waste | Tonnes | 1,300.89 | — | — |
| Non-hazardous waste intensity | kg/RMB 10,000 | 1.44 | — | — |
| NMHC exhaust emissions | Tonnes | 0.02 | — | — |
| Packaging | ||||
| Total packaging materials | Tonnes | 9,280.01 | — | — |
| Packaging intensity | Tonnes/RMB 10,000 | 0.01 | — | — |
2. Social
2.1 Workforce
Sigenergy employed 1,597 people at the end of 2025: 1,197 men and 400 women (25.0% female). By age, 620 were under 30, 965 between 30 and 50, and 12 over 50. By education, 475 held a master’s degree or above, 546 held a bachelor’s degree, and 576 were below bachelor’s level. Nine employees had disabilities. Of the total workforce, 97 were local employees and 1,500 were from other regions.
Senior management comprised 12 persons (2 female, 10 male); none were under 30, 10 were aged 30 to 50, and 2 were over 50. Middle management comprised 41 persons (7 female, 34 male). There were no contract workers.
Overall employee turnover was 15% — 4% female and 11% male. By age, turnover for those under 30 was 6%, for those aged 30 to 50 it was 8.90%, and for those over 50 it was 0.10%. The local employee turnover rate was 0.50%, while the rate for employees from other regions was 14.50%.
New hires during the year totalled 957, comprising 253 women and 704 men. By age, 445 were under 30, 509 were aged 30 to 50, and 3 were over 50. Thirty-eight were local hires and 919 from other regions.
Training coverage was 95%, delivered through 118 training sessions with a total expenditure of RMB 639,000. Average training hours per employee were 22. Male training coverage was 94.90% and female 95.10%. By level, senior management coverage was 95.50%, middle management 96%, and junior employees 94.90%. Average training hours were 24 for senior management, 24 for middle management, and 21 for junior employees.
Parental leave entitlement reached 150 employees, of whom 129 men and 21 women took leave. All 150 returned to work (100% return rate), and 148 remained employed 12 months after returning (98% retention rate). Employee satisfaction reached approximately 95%.
Workforce — full breakdown
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total employees | Persons | 1,597 | — | — |
| Male | Persons | 1,197 | — | — |
| Female | Persons | 400 | — | — |
| Female share | % | 25.0 | — | — |
| Under 30 | Persons | 620 | — | — |
| 30–50 | Persons | 965 | — | — |
| Over 50 | Persons | 12 | — | — |
| Master's degree or above | Persons | 475 | — | — |
| Bachelor's degree | Persons | 546 | — | — |
| Below bachelor's | Persons | 576 | — | — |
| Employees with disabilities | Persons | 9 | — | — |
| Local employees | Persons | 97 | — | — |
| Non-local employees | Persons | 1,500 | — | — |
| Senior management | Persons | 12 | — | — |
| — Female / Male | Persons | 2 / 10 | — | — |
| Middle management | Persons | 41 | — | — |
| — Female / Male | Persons | 7 / 34 | — | — |
| Contract workers | Persons | 0 | — | — |
| Overall turnover | % | 15 | — | — |
| — Female / Male | % | 4 / 11 | — | — |
| — Under 30 / 30–50 / Over 50 | % | 6 / 8.90 / 0.10 | — | — |
| New hires | Persons | 957 | — | — |
| — Female / Male | Persons | 253 / 704 | — | — |
| — Under 30 / 30–50 / Over 50 | Persons | 445 / 509 / 3 | — | — |
| Training sessions | Count | 118 | — | — |
| Training expenditure | RMB 10,000 | 6.39 | — | — |
| Training coverage | % | 95 | — | — |
| Average training hours per employee | Hours | 22 | — | — |
| — Female / Male | Hours | 22 / 22 | — | — |
| — Senior / Middle / Junior | Hours | 24 / 24 / 21 | — | — |
| Parental leave — entitled | Persons | 150 | — | — |
| — Male / Female taken | Persons | 129 / 21 | — | — |
| — Return-to-work rate | % | 100 | — | — |
| — Retention at 12 months | % | 98 | — | — |
| Employee satisfaction | % | ~95 | — | — |
| Minimum notice for operational changes | Weeks | 4 | — | — |
2.2 Health and safety
Sigenergy reported zero work-related fatalities over the past three years. The company holds ISO 45001 occupational health and safety management certification at all production sites, with 100% of operations and employees covered by the OHS management system. A Safety Committee oversees production safety management, with part-time safety officers assigned at each production park.
During 2025, the company carried out 37 safety inspections: 12 at the Lingang Production Park, 7 at the Jinqiao Production Park, and 18 at the Nantong Smart Energy Center. The company organised 54 safety training sessions reaching 2,141 participant attendances. Training covered safety signage recognition, occupational health, personal protective equipment use, and emergency response procedures.
Occupational health protection includes targeted health examinations for employees in key positions, dust masks and noise-reducing earplugs for environments exposed to dust, noise, and other hazards, and workplace hazard assessments in accordance with relevant Chinese standards. A noise reduction programme for air compressor rooms reduced levels from approximately 80 dB to 70 dB in 2025.
An emergency response plan for production safety incidents is in place, with emergency supplies and regular drills. A lost-time injury frequency rate, lost days, and total safety investment in currency are not disclosed.
Health and safety — full data
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Work-related fatalities | Persons | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| OHS management system coverage | % | 100 | — | — |
| Safety inspections | Count | 37 | — | — |
| Safety training sessions | Count | 54 | — | — |
| Safety training attendances | Count | 2,141 | — | — |
| Lost-time injury frequency rate | Rate | Not reported | — | — |
| Lost days | Days | Not reported | — | — |
2.3 Supply chain
Sigenergy worked with 1,346 suppliers in 2025: 1,029 in mainland China, 18 in Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan, and 299 overseas. Local procurement spending accounted for 98%.
All new suppliers (100%) were screened using both environmental and social criteria. A total of 628 suppliers were subject to environmental impact assessments and 628 to social impact assessments. Zero suppliers were identified with actual and potential significant negative environmental or social impacts.
The company maintains a Supplier Code of Conduct and a Supplier CSR Due Diligence Management Policy, requiring compliance with employment, labour protection, environmental protection, business integrity, and conflict minerals prohibitions. Suppliers are assessed across quality, delivery, cost, service, and technical responsiveness, with monthly scoring and comprehensive quarterly and annual evaluations. A tiered A to D grading system is applied: Grade A suppliers are rewarded with preferential allocation in strategic projects, while Grade D suppliers face corrective actions, supply reduction, or exit.
On conflict minerals, Sigenergy commits not to procure minerals or derivatives — including tin, tungsten, tantalum, gold (3TG), cobalt, and mica — from conflict regions. Suppliers identified as high-risk materials providers are required to submit Conflict Minerals Report Template (CMRT) or Extended Minerals Report Template (EMRT) documentation. Anti-corruption agreements have been signed with 100% of suppliers, and REACH commitment signing reached 86.84%.
During 2025, the company conducted 21 supplier quality training sessions and organised 45 quality improvement initiatives. Quality engineers are stationed on-site at eight core component suppliers.
Supply chain — full data
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total suppliers | Companies | 1,346 | — | — |
| Mainland China | Companies | 1,029 | — | — |
| Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan | Companies | 18 | — | — |
| Overseas | Companies | 299 | — | — |
| New suppliers screened — environmental criteria | % | 100 | — | — |
| New suppliers screened — social criteria | % | 100 | — | — |
| Suppliers subject to environmental assessments | Companies | 628 | — | — |
| Suppliers subject to social assessments | Companies | 628 | — | — |
| Suppliers with significant negative impacts | Companies | 0 | — | — |
| Local procurement spending share | % | 98 | — | — |
| Supplier quality training sessions | Count | 21 | — | — |
| Quality improvement initiatives | Count | 45 | — | — |
3. Governance
3.1 Board and oversight
The board has eight directors: three female (37.5%) and three independent (37.5%). Three board-level committees are in place: Audit, Remuneration, and Nomination. A Sustainability Committee oversees ESG strategy and reporting, with governance running Board, Sustainability Committee, and ESG Working Group. The executive-level ESG strategy was established in July 2024.
Sigenergy has joined 22 industry associations across global markets, including the International Battery and Storage Association, Solar Power Europe, the Solar Energy Industries Association (United States), the California Solar and Storage Association, and the BSW (Bundesverband Solarwirtschaft, Germany). Within China, the company holds a Board Member role at the Electrical Energy Storage Alliance (EESA). Other memberships span Austria, Sweden, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland, Australia, and Malaysia.
During the reporting period, the company conducted a materiality assessment to identify priority ESG topics, engaging stakeholders including shareholders, customers, employees, suppliers, regulators, and communities. Board meeting frequency and attendance rates are not disclosed.
3.2 Ethics and compliance
Sigenergy reported zero confirmed corruption or bribery incidents during the reporting period. All 1,597 employees (100%) completed anti-corruption training. The 12 members of senior management received dedicated anti-corruption training. All new employees are required to sign an integrity commitment. The company established its anti-corruption policy in 2025.
Information security is certified to ISO 27001 at three locations. Zero data security breaches and zero monetary losses from data security or customer privacy incidents were recorded. A Chief Data Protection Officer has been appointed. The company references GDPR compliance for its international operations.
A Whistleblowing and Investigation Management Policy provides channels for employees to report suspected misconduct, with an audit email address established. Reports are acknowledged within three working days, with strict confidentiality protections and zero tolerance for retaliation. The number of whistleblowing cases received is not disclosed.
Ethics and compliance — full data
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operations assessed for corruption risks | Count | 0 | — | — |
| Senior management anti-corruption training | Persons | 12 | — | — |
| Anti-corruption training coverage | % | 100 | — | — |
| Confirmed corruption/bribery incidents | Cases | 0 | — | — |
| Monetary losses — data security | RMB 10,000 | 0 | — | — |
| Monetary losses — customer privacy | RMB 10,000 | 0 | — | — |
| Whistleblowing cases received | Cases | Not reported | — | — |
4. Innovation
R&D staff account for more than 40% of the workforce, with 56% holding a master’s degree or above. The core R&D team has an average of more than 10 years of experience in the energy storage industry.
Cumulative patent applications reached 605, with 234 granted. The company does not break down the patent count by type (invention, utility model, design) in the ESG report.
Product quality management is certified to ISO 9001 at three locations. The report states product yield exceeds 99%. The SigenStack product passed an extreme fire resistance test conducted by an independent testing institution.
During the reporting period, the company conducted one voluntary product recall in Australia related to a third-party installer issue. The report describes this as a proactive measure and states no injuries resulted.
The company’s product portfolio spans inverters, battery storage systems, EV chargers, and an integrated energy management platform (SigenStar). Manufacturing efficiency improvements cited include unit energy consumption reductions of 54% for inverters, 47% for PACK systems, and 64% for charging piles year-on-year.
R&D and intellectual property — full data
| Metric | Unit | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| R&D staff share of workforce | % | >40 | — | — |
| R&D staff with master's or above | % | 56 | — | — |
| Cumulative patent applications | Count | 605 | — | — |
| Cumulative patents granted | Count | 234 | — | — |
| Product yield | % | >99 | — | — |
| Voluntary product recalls | Count | 1 | — | — |
5. What to watch
Scope 2 accounts for 99.99% of total emissions; Scope 1 is near-zero. Sigenergy’s Scope 1 of 1.23 tCO2e (586 litres of gasoline) represents 0.01% of total emissions. Scope 2 at 10,532.96 tCO2e is from purchased grid electricity. Scope 3 is not reported.
Green electricity procurement (15,000 MWh) and the Scope 2 headline are not reconciled. The company procured 15,000 MWh of green electricity certificates alongside 1,256.77 MWh of on-site PV generation. The reported Scope 2 figure (10,532.96 tCO2e) corresponds closely to the full purchased electricity of 19,629.09 MWh multiplied by the 0.5366 kgCO2/kWh grid factor (derived: 10,529 tCO2e), suggesting neither the green certificates nor the PV generation are deducted from the headline number. A market-based Scope 2 figure is not separately disclosed.
No quantified carbon target is disclosed. The only quantified environmental target in the report is a 2% reduction in water consumption intensity for 2026. There is no net-zero year, no carbon peak year, no absolute or intensity emissions reduction target, and no SBTi commitment.
Founded in 2022, with 957 new hires in the reporting year. The 957 new hires represent 60% of the total year-end workforce of 1,597. Overall turnover was 15%. Non-local employees account for 94% of the workforce (1,500 of 1,597), and employees from other regions account for 96% of new hires (919 of 957).
One voluntary product recall in Australia. The report discloses a voluntary recall related to a third-party installer issue. No injuries are stated. Separately, the SigenStack product is described as having passed an extreme fire resistance test by an independent institution.
EU regulatory preparedness underway. EU PPWR compliance work is in progress for packaging materials. REACH commitment signing with suppliers stands at 86.84%. The HKEX climate-related disclosures appendix (Part D) was applied voluntarily — Sigenergy was not a constituent of the Hang Seng Composite LargeCap Index (HSCLI), so Part D was not mandatory.
Supply chain geography: 22% of suppliers are overseas. Of the 1,346 suppliers, 299 (22%) are overseas. The company’s conflict minerals policy covers 3TG plus cobalt and mica, with CMRT/EMRT documentation required from high-risk suppliers.
Community investment figures. The KPI appendix reports RMB 14 million for emergency relief and disaster response and USD 10,000 for environmental protection initiatives. Disclosed activities include the “Sigenergy Scholarship” at seven Chinese universities (RMB 100,000 per institution), a sponsorship partnership with HDD Jesenice (ice hockey, Slovenia), and the donation of 200 tents following the March 2025 Myanmar earthquake.
What the report does not disclose
| Area | Missing disclosure |
|---|---|
| Climate | Scope 3 emissions (all categories); any absolute or intensity reduction target; net-zero or carbon peak year; SBTi validation; product carbon footprint; market-based Scope 2 |
| Trend data | Any prior-year comparative for any metric (appendix states current-period data only) |
| Energy | Renewable share of total energy as a stated percentage; on-site PV installed capacity |
| Water | Discharge volumes; recycling or reuse rate |
| Waste | Waste recycling or diversion rate |
| Workforce | Gender pay ratio; total compensation ratio; R&D investment in currency |
| Safety | Lost-time injury frequency rate; lost days; total safety investment in currency |
| Governance | Board meeting frequency and attendance; number of whistleblowing cases received |
| Ratings | MSCI, Sustainalytics, EcoVadis, CDP — no external ESG ratings disclosed |
6. Sources
- Sigenergy 2025 ESG Report (English, 68 pages)
- sigenergy.com — published 2026
- Sigenergy manufacturer profile
- bessmanufacturers.com/sigenergy/
Get BESS manufacturer intelligence
Financials, datasheets, ESG data, and market analysis — delivered when it matters.
Free updates. Unsubscribe anytime.
Got feedback on this article? We'd love to hear it.